FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 9, 2010

Contact: Craig Dagan, SID 207-326-2372

Bradford, Leighton, Gear McBride Head All-State Nominees

Husson University senior forward Shelby Bradford has been chosen as the Maine Women's Basketball Coaches Association (MWBCA) Player of the Year, while Curran Leighton from the University of Southern Maine has been selected as the Rookie of the Year and Lori Gear-McBride from Colby College was picked as the Coach of the Year.

A native of Lee, Maine, Bradford was the number one choice on 7 of 11 ballots (coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players) in garnering the award for the first time. She averaged 17.4 points, 11.9 rebounds, 3 steals, and 2.9 assists per game for the 19-9 Eagles. Bradford led the state in rebounds per game, field goal percentage, and was second in the state in scoring. The senior forward finished her career with 1,532 points and 953 rebounds.

Leighton, a freshman forward from Dover, New Hampshire, helped lead the Huskies to a 21-8 record by averaging 16.6 points, 8.9 rebounds while collecting 53 blocks and 46 steals. Leighton shot 46.1% from the floor and 82.9% from the free throw line this year.

Gear-McBride, led the Colby Women's Basketball program to a 24-5 record and their first ever trip to the NCAA Tournament. Coach McBrides' 24 wins set a program record for the most victories in a season.

First Team All-State

Shelby Bradford, Sr. – Husson University Alison Cappelloni, Sr. – Colby College Curran Leighton, Fr. – University of Southern Maine Caitlyn Laflin, Sr. – University of Maine at Farmington Caitlin Hynes, Sr. – Bowdoin College

Second Team All-State

Lauren Yanofsky, Sr. – Bates College Leah Rubega, Sr. – Bowdoin College Kelly Paradis, So. – University of New England Rachael Mack, So. – Colby College Kaylie DeMillo, Jr. - University of Southern Maine

All-Rookie Team

Curran Leighton, University of Southern Maine Diana Manduca, Colby College Allie Beaulieu, Bates College Kaitlin Donahoe, Bowdoin College Beth Suggs, University of New England

Player of the Year: Shelby Bradford, Husson

Rookie of the Year: Curran Leighton, USM

Coach of the Year: Lori Gear-McBride, Colby