

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tuesday, March 3, 2009

CONTACT:
Mark Bedics
Associate Director of Media Coordination and Championships
317/917-6222

NCAA MEN'S AND WOMEN'S SKIING COMMITTEE ANNOUNCE SELECTIONS FOR CHAMPIONSHIPS

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Men's and Women's Skiing Committee announced today the 74 men and 74 women selected to participate in the 2009 National Collegiate Men's and Women's Skiing Championships, to be held March 11-14 at Sunday River and Black Mountain in Bethel and Rumford, Maine. The championships will be hosted by Bates College.

Participants are selected on a regional basis from two designated regions for Alpine skiing (East and West Regions) and three designated regions for Nordic skiing (Central, East and West Regions). Bids are awarded to regions using a formula determined by the skiing committee. A maximum of 12 student-athletes (three per gender per discipline) may participate from an institution.

Alpine events will run March 11 and 13 at Sunday River. The men's and women's giant slaloms will be held March 11, with the men's and women's slaloms conducted March 13.

Nordic events will be held March 12 and 14 at Black Mountain. The men's 10-kilometer and women's five-kilometer classical cross-country races will be conducted March 12. The women's 15-kilometer and men's 20-kilometer freestyle races will be held March 14.

Highlights of the skiing championships will be shown on CBS at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, May 2. CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA will feature highlights of 17 different NCAA championships, each taking place during the winter season.

.....

PARTICIPANTS BY DISCIPLINE AND REGION (listed alphabetically by name):

ALPINE

East Region - Men

James Andersen, St. Lawrence Michael Cremeno, New Hampshire

David Donaldson, Vermont Robert Dyroff, Williams William Ford, New Hampshire

Erik Gilbert, Vermont
Marsh Gooding, Vermont
Braden Harden, St. Michael's
Rusty Heise, Dartmouth

Joshua Kernan, Colby Vincent Lebrun-Fortin, Colby Luke McLaughry, Dartmouth

Eric Mann, Williams

Sean McNamara, New Hampshire Robert Poehling, Middlebury Ace Tarberry, Dartmouth Andrew Wagner, Middlebury

West Region – Men

Gregory Berger-Sabbatel, Nevada Petter Brenna, New Mexico John Buchar, Denver Nick Cohee, Utah

Nick Cohee, Utah Shane Collins, Nevada

Halfdan Falkum-Hansen, Alaska Anchorage

Nikolai Herlofson Finne, New Mexico

Martin Harris, Nevada Leif Kristian Haugen, Denver Stefan Hughes, Colorado

Jonathan Hverven, Alaska Anchorage

Egil Ismar, Alaska Anchorage

Ian Lochhead, Denver Gabriel Rivas, Colorado Drew Roberts, Colorado Thomas Schwab, New Mexico

Scott Veenis, Utah

Thomas Zumbrunn, Utah

East Region – Women

Veronique Archambault-Leger, New Hampshire

Emily Colin, Colby

Lindsay Cone, St. Lawrence Nicole Dvorak, Middlebury Aileen Farrell, New Hampshire Mattie Ford, Middlebury

Courtney Hammond, Dartmouth

Micaela Holland, Bates Lyndee Janowiak, Vermont Jilyne McDonald, Vermont

Emily Porter, Williams Christine Roberts, Dartmouth Kelsey Roddick, Dartmouth

Megan Ryley, Vermont

Cynthia Tessier, New Hampshire Elizabeth Thompson, Bates Natasha Woodworth, Middlebury

West Region – Women

Claire Abbe, Denver

Stefanie Demetz, New Mexico Ida Dillingoeen, Denver

Mikaela Grassl, Utah Amy Harris, Nevada Katie Hartman, Colorado

Malin Hemmingsson, New Mexico

Eva Huckova, Utah Katie Lyons, Nevada

Sandra MacDonald, Alaska Anchorage

Carolina Nordh, Colorado Chirine Njeim, Utah Taryn O'Flynn, Nevada

Alexandra Parker, Alaska Anchorage Estelle Pecherand-Charmet, New Mexico

Lisa Perricone, Colorado Molly Ryan, Denver

Lacy Saugstad, Alaska Anchorage

NCAA NEWS RELEASE Tuesday, March 3, 2009 Page No. 3

NORDIC

Central Region - Men

Martin Banerud, Northern Michigan Tyler Kjorstad, St. Scholastica Jesse Lang, Michigan Tech Oskar Lund, Michigan Tech Santiago Ocariz, Green Bay Justin Singleton, Northern Michigan Petter Sjulstad, Michigan Tech Phillip Violett, Northern Michigan Oyvind Watterdal, Alaska Fairbanks

East Region - Men

Franz Bernstein, Vermont Sylvan Ellefson, Bates Sam Evans-Brown, Bates Simeon Hamilton, Middlebury Patrick Johnson, Middlebury Nils Koons, Dartmouth Dimitri Luthi, Williams Patrick O'Brien, Dartmouth Glenn Randall, Dartmouth Juergen Uhl, Vermont

West Region – Men

Daniel Clark, Denver Ben Fick, Utah Anders Folleraas, Montana State Matt Gelso, Colorado Tor-Hakon Hellebostad, New Mexico Mike Hinckley, Denver Martin Kaas, New Mexico Vegard Kjoelhamar, Colorado Harald Lovenskiold, Denver Jesper Ostensen, Colorado Jonathan Pluvinet, Nevada Lutz Preussler, Nevada Simon Reissmann, New Mexico Bernhard Roenning, Montana State Ryan Scott, Montana State Even Sletten, Utah Didrik Smith, Utah

Lex Treinen, Alaska Anchorage

Central Region – Women

Kelly Chaudoin, Gustavus Adolphus Anna Coulter, Alaska Fairbanks Laura DeWitt, Northern Michigan Ingrid Fjeldheim, Northern Michigan Carolyn Freeman, Green Bay Jenna Klein, Michigan Tech Julia Pierson, Alaska Fairbanks Elizabeth Quinley, Michigan Tech Theresia Schnurr, Alaska Fairbanks Marie-Helen Soderman, Northern Michigan Jill Smith, Michigan Tech

East Region - Women

Robyn Anderson, Middlebury Kristen Bednar, St. Lawrence Jennie Bender, Vermont Rose Brennan, Dartmouth Sophie Caldwell, Dartmouth Hannah Dreissigacker, Dartmouth Lucy Garrec, Colby Kathleen Maynard, Colby Elise Moody-Roberts, Middlebury Caitlin Patterson, Vermont Natalie Ruppertsberger, Bates Sarah Wright, New Hampshire

West Region - Women

Annelise Bailly, Denver Sadie Bjornsen, Alaska Anchorage Jaime Bronga, Alaska Anchorage Annelies Cook, Utah Kate Dolan, Denver Polina Ermoshina, New Mexico Maria Grevsgård, Colorado Chelsea Holmes, Nevada Kaelin Kiesel, Montana State Antje Maempel, Denver Claire Rennie, Montana State Laura Rombach, Alaska Anchorage Kristin Ronnestrand, Nevada Zoe Roy, Utah Sara Schweiger, Utah Alexa Turzian, Colorado

NCAA NEWS RELEASE Tuesday, March 3, 2009 Page No. 4

U

Max Treinen, Alaska Anchorage Raphael Wunderle, Alaska Anchorage

PARTICIPANTS BY INSTITUTION

Institution	Men's Alpine	Women's Alpine	Men's Nordic	Women's Nordic	Total
Alaska Anchorage	3	3	3	3	12
Alaska Fairbanks	0	0	1	3	4
Bates	0	2	2	1	5
Colby	2	1	0	2	5
Colorado	3	3	3	2	11
Dartmouth	3	3	3	3	12
Denver	3	3	3	3	12
Green Bay	0	0	1	1	2
Gustavus Adolphus	0	0	0	1	1
Michigan Tech	0	0	3	3	6
Middlebury	2	3	2	2	9
Montana State	0	0	3	2	5
Nevada	3	3	2	2	10
New Hampshire	3	3	0	1	7
New Mexico	3	3	3	1	10
Northern Michigan	0	0	3	3	6
St. Lawrence	1	1	0	1	3
St. Michael's	1	0	0	0	1
St. Scholastica	0	0	1	0	1
Utah	3	3	3	3	12
Vermont	3	3	2	2	10
Williams	2	1	1	0	4

The University of Denver will enter the 2009 National Collegiate Men's and Women's Skiing Championships as the defending champion after claiming its record 19th title at last year's championships in Montana. The Pioneers earned 649.5 team points, overcoming a 17.5-point deficit on the final day of competition to push past the second-place finishers from the University of Colorado. The University of Utah finished third.

Denver's John Buchar claimed individual titles in both of the men's Alpine events while Lucie Zikova of Colorado topped the field in both of the women's Alpine events. Maria Grevsgaard, also of Colorado, claimed the individual titles in both of the women's Nordic races. The men's Nordic titles were

NCAA NEWS RELEASE Tuesday, March 3, 2009 Page No. 5

split between Dartmouth College's Glenn Randall, who won the 10-kilometer freestyle race, and Marius Korthauer of the University of Alaska-Fairbanks who claimed the 20-kilometer classical title.

-30-

MB:jcg