

www.nescac.com

## Dan Fisher Assistant Director, NESCAC

100 Venture Way - Box 13 Hadley, MA 01035 P: (413) 587-2078 F: (413) 587-2167 daniel.fisher@trincoll.edu

CROSS COUNTRY All-Conference - Nov. 3, 2009

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

# NESCAC CROSS COUNTRY ALL-CONFERENCE TEAMS ANNOUNCED Hamilton's Kosgei Completes Three-Peat, Amherst's Galleher Claims Top Women's Honor

HADLEY, Mass. – Seniors Sophia Galleher (Denver, Colo.) of Amherst and Peter Kosgei (Kapsabet, Kenya) of Hamilton both earned 2009 NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer honors after the two placed first at the 2009 NESCAC Cross Country Championships hosted by Trinity College at Wickham Park in Manchester, Conn. on Sunday, Nov. 1.

Galleher won the 2009 individual title at the conference championship by the slimmest of margins, as her time of 21:39 over the 6-kilometer course was just one second ahead of Wesleyan senior Ravenna Neville (Westfield, N.J.) and two seconds in front of Tufts junior Amy Wilfert (Westborough, Mass.). It was also the best finish for Galleher in her four-year career at the NESCAC meet after placing 15th during her rookie season (24:10), 17th as a sophomore (23:32), and 77th as a junior (24:46). Neville improved upon an 18th-place showing at the 2008 championship, while Wilfert was 11th at Pineland Farms last fall. All three harriers also claimed All-NESCAC First Team honors for the first time in their careers. Wilfert garnered Second Team accolades in 2008.

Joining the frontrunners on the All-Conference First Team were a pair of first year runners, Julia Mark (Bloomsbury, N.J.) of Wesleyan and Jennifer Gossels (Sudbury, Mass.) of Williams. Mark joined Cardinal teammate Neville among the top five runners at the event as she finished in fifth with a time of 22:15. She also edged the Ephs' Gossels for NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors by four seconds.

Sophomores Claire McIlvennie (Ithaca, N.Y.) and Elise Moody-Roberts (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) of Middlebury rounded out the Women's All-NESCAC First Team. The tandem moved up from last year's Second Team to this year's First Team as they helped the Panthers win the 2009 NESCAC Women's Cross Country Championship, their 10th overall and first outright crown since 2003. McIlvennie finished the championship in fourth (21:57) while Moody-Roberts was seventh (22:21).

For the second year in a row, Terry Aldrich of Middlebury was selected by his counterparts as the Women's Coach of the Year. Aldrich previously received the conference's top coaching honor in 2000, 2001, and 2008. He has also been honored at the national level as coach of the year on five occasions, most recently in 2008 after the Panthers captured the NCAA crown.

Kosgei joined the ranks of Wesleyan's Joseph Mahoney (1990, 1992-93) and Williams' Neal Holtschulte (2003-05) as the only individuals to win the men's NESCAC title three times in their career. Kosgei completed the 8-kilometer course with a 17-second margin over the next-closest competitor, posting a time of 25:40. The victory for Kosgei was the 21st out of 23 varsity races that he has participated in during his time with the Continentals. Kosgei, who won the 2008 NCAA Championship, also garnered All-Conference First Team honors for the third consecutive year.

Williams senior Edgar Kosgey (Eldoret River Valley, Kenya) also received All-NESCAC First Team recognition for the third year in a row. A familiar face at the front of the Ephs' pack, Kosgey paced his squad to their fourth NESCAC title in the last four years as he finished second for the second year in a row (25:57). Along with Kosgey on the First Team from Williams was sophomore Josephat Koima (Eldoret Rift Valley, Kenya). In his first appearance at the conference championship, Koima came in third with a time of 26:18.

Tufts senior Jesse Faller (Burlington, Mass.) earned All-NESCAC honors for the third-straight year with his second consecutive top five finish. A Second Team selection in 2007 and a First Team member in 2008, Faller placed fourth with a time of 26:21 and edged the Amherst duo of junior Will Yochum (Goleta, Calif.) and senior Daniel Murner (Crestwood, Ky.). Yochum, the Rookie of the Year and a First Team selection in 2007, finished fifth (26:22) while Murner, who received Second Team accolades in 2008, was sixth (26:24).

Sophomore Mike Schmidt (Wilmette, III.) of Middlebury completed the Men's All-NESCAC First Team. A member of last year's Second Team, Schmidt led the Panthers to a fourth-place showing at the conference championship - their best finish this decade - with a finish in seventh on Sunday (26:28).

Rookie of the Year went to Tufts freshman Kyle Marks (Carmel, Ind.), as he placed 16th overall with a time of 27:15. Coach of the Year was bestowed upon Pete Farwell of Williams. Now in his 30th season with the Ephs, Farwell's team has won more NESCAC titles than any other during his tenure, as they captured their 12th overall crown this past weekend at Wickham Park. It is the third time in the last four years that Farwell has been named Coach of the Year after winning the award in 2006 and again in 2007. He shared the league's coaching honors with Peter Slovenski of Bowdoin in 2000.

All-Conference Teams Continued on Page 2

# 2009 NESCAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference

Jesse Faller *	Tufts	Sr.	Burlington, Mass.
Josephat Koima	Williams	So.	Eldoret Rift Valley, Kenya
Peter Kosgei *	Hamilton	Sr.	Kapsabet, Kenya
Edgar Kosgey *	Williams	Sr.	Eldoret River Valley, Kenya
Daniel Murner ^	Amherst	Sr.	Crestwood, Ky.
Mike Schmidt ^	Middlebury	So.	Wilmette, III.
Will Yochum	Amherst	Jr.	Goleta, Calif.

#### Second Team

Devin Dilts	Bates	Jr.	Roscoe, III.
Colman Hatton	Bowdoin	Sr.	Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Thompson Ogilvie	Bowdoin	Sr.	Hopedale, Mass.
Jeff Perlis *	Williams	Sr.	Bethesda, Md.
Anthony Raduazo ^	Williams	So.	Bolton, Mass.
Jack Terrett	Middlebury	Jr.	Sherborn, Mass.
Corey Watts	Williams	Sr.	Madison, Wis.

Most Outstanding Performer: Peter Kosgei, Hamilton

Rookie of the Year: Kyle Marks, Tufts

Coach of the Year: Peter Farwell, Williams

# 2009 NESCAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference

## First Team

Sophia Galleher	Amherst	Sr.	Denver, Colo.
Jennifer Gossels	Williams	Fy.	Sudbury, Mass.
Julia Mark	Wesleyan	Fy.	Bloomsbury, N.J.
Claire McIlvennie ^	Middlebury	So.	Ithaca, N.Y.
Elise Moody-Roberts ^	Middlebury	So.	Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Ravenna Neville	Wesleyan	Sr.	Westfield, N.J.
Amy Wilfert ^	Tufts	Jr.	Westborough, Mass.

## **Second Team**

Annie Dear	Williams	Fy.	Olympia, Wash.
Lauren Goldstein-Kral	Williams	So.	Shaker Heights, Ohio
Katrina Gravel	Colby	Sr.	Peabody, Mass.
Cassi Knight	Colby	Sr.	Carlisle, Mass.
Sarah Lange	Middlebury	Fy.	Brattleboro, Vt.
Bret Scofield	Williams	Sr.	Orinda, Calif.
Addie Tousley	Middlebury	Fy.	Kensington, Md.

Most Outstanding Performer: Sophia Galleher, Amherst

Rookie of the Year: Julia Mark, Wesleyan

Coach of the Year: Terry Aldrich, Middlebury

<sup>\* - 2008</sup> All-Conference First Team

<sup>^ - 2008</sup> All-Conference Second Team