Sept. 1, 2001  

Contact: Adam Levin
Phone: (207) 786-6411


Alumni Meet
at Lewiston, Maine


Lewiston, ME – The Bates College Men’s Cross Country team opened the 2001 season by edging a strong alumni team in the 29th running of the Alumni Cross Country Meet. With the win, the Varsity regained the all-time series lead 15-14. The Varsity was powered by strong front running and impressive depth in route to the 23-34 win.

The meet also marked the first opportunity to utilize the newly completed outdoor track and field facility. The race started and finished on the track while winding through the Bates College campus for 5 miles. The alumni, trying to duplicate last year's win, mounted a strong challenge early as Paul Hammond '82 and Mike Danahy '00 gave chase to the front runner, junior Justin Easter. Varsity teammate Malcolm Gray chased the Alumni duo, keeping the score even through 4 runners. Matt Twiest '00 made things interesting early with Jaime Goodberlet and Bob Chasen not far behind.

But strong team tactics and a big outing from the newest Bobcat runners proved to be too much, as the younger legs prevailed. Sophomore John Plimpton led the charge by moving up through the field, finishing 5th. In the process he helped first-year runners Mike Downing and Robert Gomez to 6th and 7th places in front of Goodberlet and Chasen. Bates Varsity followed with four more rookies, Joel Anderson, Andrius Staisiunas, John Hancook and Patrick Wales-Dinan. Matt Payson '00 rounded out the scoring for the varsity, placing 13th.

In all 46 Batsies competed in one of the largest alumni fields ever. Among them were 8 former or present All-Americans. Danahy, Hammond, Goodberlet, Twiest, Paul Oparowski, Kim Wetlauffer, and Bill Tyler represented the past greatness while winner Easter, fresh off of his second All-American honor last spring, represented the current excellence. The meet was also marked by the return of all 12 members of the class of 2000, the team that placed 10th in the nation in 1999.

Pl. Name				Tm.	Time		Pl.	Name				Tm.	Time
1	Justin Easter		V	26:50		24	Justin Pagnotta		V	31:04
2	Mike Danahy			A	27:28		25	Luke Selby			V	31:25
3	Paul Hammond		A	27:29		26	Steve Mague			A	31:30
4	Malcolm Gray		V	27:39		27	Trent Lierman		V	31:31
5	John Plimpton		V	28:04		28	Tom Leonard			A	31:37
6	Mike Downing		V	28:07		29	Sean Galipeau		A	31:42
7	Robert Gomez		V	28:23	 	30	Chris Adams			A	32:24
8	James Goodberlet	A	28:54		31	Brian O'Connor		A	32:25
9	Bob Chasen			A	28:57		32	Curt Lyford			V	32:29
10	Joel Anderson		V	28:59		33	Steve Dutton		A	32:39
11	Andrius Staisiunas	V	29:07		34	Steve Beardsley		A	32:43
12	John Hancook		V	29:09		35	Matt Daly			V	32:59
13	Matt Payson			A	29:12		36	Brendan Hahesy		A	33:06
14	Patrick Wales-Dinan	V	29:16		37	Ken O’Reagan		A	33:14
15	Matt Twiest			A	29:17		38	Tao Albrecht		A	33:33
16	Charlie Poris		V	29:27		39	Paul Oparowski		A	34:04
17	Ben Bruce			V	29:28		40	Kurt Deschermeier	A	34:25
18	Tim Miller			V	29:30		41	Kim Wetlauffer		A	34:30 
19	Alec Maybarduk		V	30:03		42	Trevor Emory		A	40:22
20 	Andrew Philpot		V	30:13		43	Adam Kessler		A	40:22
21	Brent Mann			V	30:19		44	John Hagberg		A	40:22
22	John McGrath		A	30:36		45	Chris Lau			A	44:22
23	Jake White			V	30:58		46	Bill Tyler			A	48:36

#   #   #  

[home] [up]
[reply] [help]
©2000 Bates College.
All Rights Reserved.
Last modified: 9/10/00 by asl