

www.nescac.com

Dan Fisher Assistant Director, NESCAC

100 Venture Way - Box 13 Hadley, MA 01035 P: (413) 587-2078 F: (413) 587-2167 daniel.fisher@trincoll.edu

NESCAC WINTER ALL-SPORTSMANSHIP - March 13, 2008

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NESCAC WINTER ALL-SPORTSMANSHIP SELECTIONS ANNOUNCED

Honor Recognizes Positive Contributions to Sport Within Conference

HADLEY, Mass. - The New England Small College Athletic Conference has announced the Winter All-Sportsmanship Team for each winter sport sponsored by the conference. The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. The student-athlete selected must be in good academic standing and a member of the team at the conclusion of the season in order to be eligible for selection.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Notable members among the 83 individuals selected to the Winter All-Sportsmanship Team are ice hockey players T.J. Kelley (Ridgefield, Conn.) of Colby and the Williams tandem of Will Bruce (Nashville, Tenn.) and Caralyn Quan (Toronto, Ontario). Kelley was recently named the 2008 NESCAC Men's Ice Hockey Player of the Year, as he led the NESCAC in scoring this season with 19 goals and 24 assists for 43 points. Bruce and Quan are among eight finalists for the 2008 Hockey Humanitarian Award, given annually to college hockey's finest citizen.

The Winter All-Sportsmanship Team also includes Hamilton Women's Ice Hockey junior Kathryn Kroleski (New Rochelle, N.Y.), a member of the NESCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete well-being. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes achievements.

* - 2008 NESCAC All-Conference team member in respective sport

Men's Basketball Brandon Jones Eric Shone Andrew Sargeantson Preston Decker Shavar Bernier Andrew Harris Tyler Simms Jake Weitzen Wilson Griffin Chris Shalvoy	Amherst Bates Bowdoin Colby Connecticut College Middlebury Trinity Tufts Wesleyan Williams	Sr. Sr. Sr. So. Sr. Sr. Sr. Sr.	Hopatcong, N.J. Portland, Maine New Canaan, Conn. Newton, Mass. Dover, N.H. Waterbury Center, Vt. Bourne, Mass. New York, N.Y. Chevy Chase, Md. Rochester, N.Y.	Men's Ice Hockey (1*) Rob Stevenson Matt Smith T.J. Kelley * Patrick Collins Matt Mesi Jed McDonald Ross Grubin Ross Gimbel Mike Palladino Will Bruce	Amherst Bowdoin Colby Connecticut College Hamilton Middlebury Trinity Tufts Wesleyan Williams	Sr. Jr. Sr. Sr. Sr. Sr. Sr.	Newton, Mass. Yarmouth, Maine Ridgefield, Conn. Rutland, Vt. Orchard Park, N.Y. Hingham, Mass. Newington, Conn. Ann Arbor, Mich. Litchfield, Conn. Nashville, Tenn.
Women's Basketball Anne-Claire Roesch Sarah Barton Maria Noucas Julianne Kowalski Katy Serafin Katie Fisher Kathleen Conlon Jenna Gomez Steph Savas Dominique de la Torre	Amherst Bates Bowdoin Colby Connecticut College Middlebury Trinity Tufts Wesleyan Williams	Sr. Sr. Jr. Fy. Sr. Sr. Sr. Sr. Sr.	Westport, Conn. Portsmouth, N.H. Portsmouth, N.H. Montville, N.J. Carmel, N.Y. Oakland, Calif. Sagamore Beach, Mass. Norfolk, Mass. Brockton, Mass. Bronxville, N.Y.	Women's Ice Hockey (1' Elizabeth Ditmore Katie Coyne Beckey Julian * Kristen Van Slyke Kathryn Kroleski Margaret MacDonald Erin Fitzgerald Adrienne Shea Caralyn Quan	Amherst Bowdoin Colby Connecticut College Hamilton Middlebury Trinity Wesleyan Williams	Sr. Sr. Jr. Sr. Sr. Sr. Sr.	Excelsior, Minn. Madison, Wis. South Windsor, Conn. Phoenix, Ariz. New Rochelle, N.Y. Judique, Nova Scotia Ridgefield, Conn. Andover, Mass. Toronto, Ontario

Men's Squash (2

Mark Rapisarda *	Amherst	Sr.	Brooklyn, N.Y.
Sean Wilkinson *	Bates	Sr.	London, England
Jake Sack	Bowdoin	Sr.	Wynnewood, Pa.
Justin Russell	Colby	Jr.	Amherst, Mass.
Dan Bassett	Connecticut College	Sr.	Lincoln, Mass.
Brett Morell	Hamilton	So.	Rye, N.Y.
Simon Keyes	Middlebury	So.	Concord, Mass.
Simba Muhwati	Trinity	Jr.	Harare, Zimbabwe
Kris Leetavorn	Tufts	Sr.	Bangkok, Thailand
Benjie Messinger-Barnes	Wesleyan	Jr.	New York, N.Y.
Antony Maruca	Williams	Sr.	Washington, D.C.

Women's Squash (1*)

Melissa Moulton	Amherst	Jr.	Oreland, Pa.
Sarah Blomstedt	Bates	Jr.	Gill, Mass.
Emilie McKenna	Bowdoin	Sr.	Fairfield, Conn.
Samantha Smith *	Colby	So.	Locust Valley, N.Y.
Cara Flynn	Connecticut College	So.	Haverford, Pa.
Danielle Forsyth	Hamilton	Fy.	Lewiston, N.Y.
Brooke Farquhar	Middlebury	Sr.	Sandy Spring, Md.
Jo-Ann Jee	Trinity	So.	Kuching Sarawak, Malaysia
		_	

Micela Leis Tufts Sr. Providence, R.I.
Gwynne Hunter Wesleyan So. Farmington, Conn.
Catie Warner Williams Sr. Atlanta, Ga.

Men's Swimming & Diving (2*)

Sr. Chevy Chase, Md. Adam Bookman Amherst Fr. Bangkok, Thailand Peem Chatikavanij Bates Michael Tillotson Sr. Seattle, Wash. Bowdoin Kevin Smith So. Westfield, N.J. Colby Brian Finnerty * Connecticut College So. Garden City, N.Y. Jared Mereness * So. Farmington, N.Y. Hamilton Sr. Westport, Conn. Donnie Stuart Middlebury Sr. Charlotte, N.C. Patrick Mostyn Trinity Peter Accomando Tufts Andover, Mass. Jr. Jeff Stein Wesleyan Sr. Glencoe, III. Yevgeniy Korunskiy Williams Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.

Women's Swimming & Diving

Jennifer Lewkowitz Amherst Sr. Phoenix, Ariz. Emilie Swenson **Bates** Sr. Old Saybrook, Conn. Jessica Horstkotte Bowdoin Sr. Winnetka, III. Aimee Sheppard Colby So. Nahant. Mass. Jane Thompson Connecticut College Fy. Pasadena, Calif. Maura Donovan Hamilton Bradford, Mass. Jr. Whitney Thomas Middlebury Southborough, Mass. Amanda Kulik Trinity Sr. Salem, Mass. Renee Nicholas La Canada, Calif. Tufts Sr. Wesleyan Fy. Ipswich, Mass. Cara Madden Joanna Hoffman Williams So. Upper Arlington, Ohio