The Annual Otis Lecture

Inaugurated in 1996, the annual Otis Lecture features a prominent speaker who visits the campus for a short residency, meeting with students and faculty, especially in environmental studies, to share their interests and discuss topics of concern.

Past Otis Lecturers include:

1996: Max Oelschlaeger, author of The Idea of Wilderness.

1997: Arlene Blum, pioneer woman mountain climber, author of Annapurna, A Woman's Place.

1998: Terry Tempest Williams, author of Refuge.

1999: Barry Lopez, author of Arctic Dreams.

2000: Richard Nelson, author of The Island Within.

2001: Gary Paul Nabhan, author of Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasure and Politics of Local Foods.

2003: Pattiann Rogers, author ofThe Dream of the Marsh Wren.

2004: Franklin Burroughs

2005: William J. Cronon

2006: Mary Oliver, Poet

2007: Agnes Denes, Environmental Artist

2008: Michael Pollan, author ofThe Omnivore's Dilemma

2009: Scott Momaday

2010: Sandra Steingraber, author of Living Downstream An Ecologist Looks at Cancer and the Environment